(First posted on http://www.recessiondodgetovictory.wordpress.com on 03/03/2011)

Disclaimer: As with all my music reviews, this is a blow-by-blow account taken from my own perspective and written mostly for myself as a memory aid. I’m not always an expert on the band in question.

After dashing out of Boris, I nipped over to stage 2 where Keiji Haino was already making a helluva lot of noise.

Stage 2 was notable because it was essentially just a shed with a capacity of what looked like 300 maximum, maybe less. Security had set up a barrier in front of the shed so you couldn’t see in it but got the full din of whatever it was that was going on inside. The only way you could get a glimpse at the acts on stage was if you started queuing up to get in, which meant you had no chance of hearing anything from stage 1 if you made that choice – as I did.

I thought I had time to get a drink before Envy so went over and queued for a while. My need for liquids was flawed as it meant that I missed getting into the shed of exclusivity for Envy.

With two drinks in hand, I tried any way and while I was waiting I plugged in my earphones and set my MP3 player to “Further Ahead of the Warp” from Insomniac Doze, and the strangest thing happened. Bearing in mind that I couldn’t see what was going on, I heard no cheering from the sound outside my headphones, but what sounded like the band playing the very same track I had just started listening to. The queue outside piled up to see what was going on and I did too only for the music to suddenly stop. Perhaps it was the sound techs? Perhaps it was the band? I won’t know for sure.

About 5 or 10 minutes later the band really did start to play and the guitars sounded really crisp and beautiful as they echoed out of the shed and into the main food court and queuing area. The singer’s voice sounded much rawer than on the recording as I saw his head bobbing around from the back of the queue. As some people in the shed left, the queue inched forward and by the end of the set I was at the front. So near yet so far…

Disappointing really as they sounded really good. Alternatively, I could definitely have seen Autolux on Stage 1 but then I wouldn’t have got in to see Melt Banana who followed Envy on Stage 2.

When the last song ended the band jumped into the crowd clutching guitars and drum cymbals. I guess next time I’ll know to dehydrate if I want to see a good live gig. Let’s enjoying collapsing!

Le sigh…

